My Trees – So far

I thought I’d better post a few photos of some of my trees so far, what stage they are at and where I want to get with them. None of my trees are finished but some of them are going to take a little more work than others.

image

This is my twin trunk azalea. It’s still in it’s training pot but it’s general shape is there. As with most bonsai’s I would have liked the trunks to be a little bigger but as a short tree, I don’t think they look too bad. The plan is to grow out the foliage a little then prune it into pads so it will be a loose broom style.

image

This is a clip and grow attempt at a slanted style tree. It is a cedrus deodara that was suffering a little in the nursery so I took it home, pruned it back a little and planted it into a training pot in a bonsai mix. The branch at the top right is intended to be a sacrifice branch so it will eventually be taken off. I didn’t want to take off too much foliage initially as the plant was not in great health. so I’ll let the foliage grow out a little and then remove it.

image

This is a Portuguese Laurel. This tree has a LONG way to go but I think it will make an interesting little tree when it’s finished. I’ve cut it back to a rough size but I need to grow out the branch structure a bit before I can really shape it.

image

This is a little buxus. Again it is in the very early stages but I have managed to get it planted into a small bonsai pot. I’ll let it grow out a little and then trim it into shape. Buxus grows slowly so it might take a while.

I have a few other trees planted into bonsai mix in nursery pots but they ain’t really that interesting at this stage

Posted on 18/06/2013, in Trees and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. looks like you are off to a good start!

    • Yea I kinda have that old beginners syndrome when you want to have loads of trees so I’ve had to limit myself a little. I have a few growing on that will be ready over the next couple of years. You have many trees?

      • I’ve got ten or so in my inventory. Some old some young.

      • Sounds like a nice manageable number. I’ll have to try and keep my numbers down so I can manage them. Between working and family I don’t have a lot of time to spend with them. Not nearly as much as I would like anyway.

      • Myself as well. Ten is a manageable number for me, plus I live in a condo and my yard is not as big as I would hope it to be. So far i’ve got:

        3 Alberta spruce
        2 cotoneaster
        1 quaking aspen
        a couple sugar maple sapplings
        a shohin juniper
        1 blue star juniper
        1 boxwood (which I don’t think survived the winter)

      • That’s a nice selection. Apart from the tree’s listed below I have:

        2 Escallonia Apple Blossom

        1 Escallonia Donard Radiance

        1 English Oak Seedling – Not Sure if it’s worth my while as they are so slow growing.

        1 Viburnum Davidii

        1 Corylus Avellana Contorta ‘Red Majestic’ – I think this one may be a gonner which is a bit crap because the trunk and branching on it could’ve been interesting.

        1 Choisya Aztec Pearl

        Some of these are simply growing on and haven’t been styled yet at all

Leave a Reply

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

futterwithtrees

Bonsai Revival Journey

Bonsai Baker

My Online Bonsai Diary

Indiana Bonsai

Learning Bonsai in the Hoosier state

Bonsai Eejit

My on-line Bonsai Diary

ESCHMIDT-PA-BONSAI

Bonsai from Pennsylvania and beyond :)

Bonsology

Perfectly Imperfect.

turkischland

Just another WordPress.com site

