More pics of my Pre-Bonsai Acer Palmatum ‘Orange Dream’

I’ve been talking a bit about my Acer Pal. Orange Dream on /r/bonsai so I thought I would post a few more pics.

Anyone with any ideas about design or a plan for the future feel free to comment and let me know. Any advice will be welcome.

image
image
image
image
image
image
image

Posted on 24/06/2013, in Trees and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. One of those trunks needs to go, leave the one that gives better taper and movement and seal the wound. That will probably do it for a while until you can see the full structure over the Winter.

    • Can it be cut now? I know they are rebound for weeping a lot if they’re wounded in spring but will they have dried a little now?

      • I would yes, it’s wasting energy growing foliage on that second trunk when it could be putting out usable growth on the other one that can be utilised in the Spring. I would seal it to minimize any bleeding but I doubt it will make any difference.

      • Cool cool, I have it stashed in work so I will have a look at it tomorrow. Will arbrex seal and heal be OK for the wound?

      • Yes a very thin coating of it will do. If you don’t have the proper bonsai stuff wood glue will also do the job and will be cleaner than arbrex

  2. I agree with bonsai Eejit about one trunk going bye-bye. I would choose the one that looks very straight and has a huge gap between buds/branches as the one to go. It will be difficult to get any could branch ramification on this one.

    • The one that gives me the best taper is the weaker of the two main trunks however removing it may also give me a new front to the tree and will provide me with more options to select a new leader branch off it to build my canopy.

Leave a Reply

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

futterwithtrees

Bonsai Revival Journey

Bonsai Baker

My Online Bonsai Diary

Indiana Bonsai

Learning Bonsai in the Hoosier state

Bonsai Eejit

My on-line Bonsai Diary

ESCHMIDT-PA-BONSAI

Bonsai from Pennsylvania and beyond :)

Bonsology

Perfectly Imperfect.

turkischland

Just another WordPress.com site

