My 2 escalonia’s – Need some advice

Now that we finally have some heat in the ground and plenty of sunshine. Things are really starting to grow. My 2 escalonia that have been cut down from 1m high hedging plants are budding like crazy so I have a few questions.

image

image

I am not wanting to turn them into large trees. I think with the size of their trunks they would suit a more shohin size. The smaller of the two around 6inches and the larger between 8-10inches.

So here’s my question.

Should I be removing buds now to allow the tree to concentrate on developing branches I want to keep or do I let it grow out for another year and cut it back hard again next year?

Any other style advice will be welcomed with open arms.

Posted on 10/07/2013, in Trees and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I would let it grow for a season maybe 2. See what growth u get. You can always remove what u don’t want but can never put back on what u removed and shouldn’t have. It looks like you need the buds to extend to get some branch ramification to occur at this stage. Just my thoughts on what I would do at this point.

    • Sounds like a plan. I had intended letting it grow out for a year or two to develop the branching but just didn’t know if I should rub off the smaller buds on the trunk but I’ll let them be for a while

      • I would let them there for the time being to help with getting the trees health back after the hard prune. Once you start getting some good branches extending that you want and they have a fair amount of leaves on them then u can remove the buds on the trunk to push the energy towards your future branches.

Leave a Reply

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

futterwithtrees

Bonsai Revival Journey

Bonsai Baker

My Online Bonsai Diary

Indiana Bonsai

Learning Bonsai in the Hoosier state

Bonsai Eejit

My on-line Bonsai Diary

ESCHMIDT-PA-BONSAI

Bonsai from Pennsylvania and beyond :)

Bonsology

Perfectly Imperfect.

turkischland

Just another WordPress.com site

